top of page
  • Writer's pictureFranklin Cachia

Kazin tal-Banda San Gabriel, Balzan: A Comfort Pizza Zone


For this week’s episode of Slice, my man and I visited our hometown village kazin, ideal for a cheap and chirpy weekday or Smonday Blues evening. This ain't a fancy restaurant or a fine dining Italian style pizza – forget about that at the Kazin - but it is a comfort zone which will warm your heart with the mega chilled vibe that you would expect to find in a typical Maltese kazin, situated right in front of the Balzan parish church, Ta’ Marija Annunzjata.


If you just returned from a day at the beach or a day on a boat and you are still smelling of the Mediterranean salty waters and just feel like a really relaxed environment in a village square right in the centre of Malta, then this place might be the right one for you.


Entering the Kazin, we spotted a free table but before that I went to fetch the menu. Yes, you don’t really wait to be seated over here ... you just spot a table, head to it and place your order. I'll be super eager and excited to order my pizza so I just had to make the waiter’s life easy and grabbed a menu as I entered.


Apart from the other food on the menu, which I was not really interested in of course, their selection of pizza is quite basic, however there are 15 different kinds of pizzas to choose from which is not that bad afterall.


After no undue pressure and after hinting and dramatizing to my man that I would like the Quattro Stagioni but also the St. Gabriel Special Pizza - huge dilemma, he ordered the Quattro Stagioni (no surprise there) and I had St. Gabriel Special Pizza.


The Quattro Stagioni consisted of tomatoes, mozzarella, mushrooms, ham, salami, eggs, cocktail sausages, and oregano.



The Four Seasons: not as fancy as the hotel but just as good.


The St. Gabriel Special consisted of everything.




The St. Gabriel Special: Bless Saint Gabriel and all his ingredients. Amen.


Joking, almost everything. The ingredients are like a paragraph long and I am sure only fancy pigs like me would go for this hehe. Yes, it is one of those hammalli pizza which comes with a mountain of ingredients but in my defence, sometimes you just need to carb load and achieve optimum comfort with a fat pizza. I am sure some of you will understand.


Naturally, I tasted both and I am happy to rate them both at 7.12/10. What I really like about these pizzas is that, apart from the generous amount of ingredients they put for pigs like myself, the dough is just delicious!! Really soft and cushiony and buzzes my palate.


However, as I suggested in the beginning, this kind of pizza is not the kind of pizza that you would go for when seeking an Italian style thin pizza. It is ideal for those lazy summer nights following a day at the beach, where you can just chill over a Cisk Chill or Magners and your pizza of course. I also suggest a nice stroll around the village after your pizza. It’s kind of romantic and cute, just like pizza 😊 !


On to the next pizza. Whoop Whoop! :)


Disclaimer: This blog is my sole and honest opinion composed of a touch of humour and funniness. Under no circumstance shall it be construed as defamatory or harmful towards the reputation of the establishment or its patrons. I write to spread my love of pizza which I am sure you will appreciate too.

538 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page